God, a field and stuff

“I’m finding myself at a loss for words, and the funny thing is it’s okay” –Mercy Me

ayf 2

Yesterday I spent the entire day processing registrations for Abbey Youth Festival, the Abbey + Seminary College’s annual music and worship festival where over 3500 Catholic teens come out to celebrate and strengthen their faith. It’s an amazing day that never in a million years I would have chosen to be a part of. I like to be quiet about my faith and outward expressions or proselytizing makes me very uncomfortable. I really don’t know why but I’ll figure it out one day. In the meantime, I am right where God wants me to be…mom to Harris, wife to Karl, keeper of stray dogs, herder of confused chickens, surrogate mom to seminarians, helper to monks. I’m all kinds of definitions to lots of different people but I still ask everyday “Why the hell am I here?”

So on March 9th I get up at the crack of dawn and go out to the Abbey’s back 40 acres and watch the fruits of my labor unfold before me. It really is a beautiful day and I get totally sucked into the Glory of God’s love. I can’t believe I’m writing this! But….I am.

Abbey Youth Festival, March 9th, Saint Joseph Abbey + Seminary College

http://www.abbeyyouthfest.com

Abbey Youth Fest

Abbey Youth Fest

One thought on “God, a field and stuff

  1. Glad to be on the journey with you, Kit. Thanks for all you do with such enthusiasm and love. “How beautiful on the mountains, are the feet of him [or her!] that brings Good News…” (Is 52:7)

Leave a Reply

