Y’all Come!

People often ask me how I got my New York City boy, Karl, to move down to my family home in Covington, Louisiana. Truth is, my Manhattan boy dragged me back here kicking and screaming. I cried for months after the move and I’m still a tiny bit mad at him even after 9 years of country living. Now don’t get me wrong, I love my home state and I love my people. I just really loved urban life in the Big Apple  and frankly I had no intention of ever leaving. Life’s funny though and God changes our course in unexpected ways. One September morning in 2001 changed all of our lives, and the markers along our journey started pointing for us to mosey on down south of the Mason-Dixon. So here we are raising our son, Harris, in my family’s farmhouse, built originally in 1840. My grandparents, Maurice and Katie Planche, bought this farm in 1915 from the Greenlaw Timber Company. Maurice was a country gentleman and Katie was the quintessential St. Charles Avenue girl. He took her for a Sunday drive and stopped in front of the Greenlaw house and said, “Do you like it?” She said it was nice and to start the car because it would soon be dark. He said, “Glad you like it….it’s our new home”.  Katie sobbed all the way back to downtown Covington, but she moved here and raised her four children at Mill Bank Farms. Harris is the third generation growing up on the sandy banks of the Bogue Falaya River, and I suppose God has planted all of us where He wants us to be.

So check us out from time to time and see what life on the farm is like. We sell reclaimed furniture and stuff made from our old barn wood. Karl and I also love a good antique find so we sell vintage goodies too. If you’re ever on the Northshore of New Orleans and you want to see some of Maurice’s pecan trees, planted back when he bought this place, or check out the beautiful river, come on by. As the song goes “Y’all Come!”

Okay but remember we’re really New Yorkers so be sure to email us first…kitfriedrichs@gmail.com.

3 thoughts on “Y’all Come!

  1. Sweet thoughts. Not unlike Rosemerry and Con Hanian who left their dancing careers and returned to Rosemerry’s roots from Manhattan? If I ever have a free moment when I go home to see my mother at her place in town further down the Bogue Falaya, I’ll stop by.

Leave a Reply

